Sun Sailor: Five new candidates vie for three spots on Hopkins School Board

Click here to read the entire Sun Sailor story

Published August 22, 2017 at 3:14 pm
By Sabina Badola

The filing period for three seats on Hopkins School District 270’s school board closed on Aug. 15. Five people, all of whom would be newcomers to the Hopkins board, have filed as candidates.

The candidates are Fartun Ahmed, Kevin Bennett, Jen Westmoreland Bouchard, Chris LaTondresse and Steve Semler.

The three seats up for election are held by Betsy Anderson, Warren Goodroad and Doobie Kurus.

The school board has seven members who are elected to serve four-year terms. New school board members will begin their terms in January.

Early voting starts Sept. 22, both by mail and in person. Voting will be from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. on election day, Tuesday, Nov. 7.

The Sun Sailor and Sun Post will print profiles of all school board candidates this fall before the election.


Leave a Comment


Drop me a line here and I'll get back to you ASAP. Thanks, Chris

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt